Mohammed Salim

Positions Held

Ministry Tenure
Member of the Indian Parliament for Raiganj 2014

Personal Details

Date Of Birth 5 June 1957 (age 61)
Place Watgunge, Kidderpore, South Calcutta, West Bengal
Political Party Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Academics Maulana Azad College, University of Calcutta, Jadavpur University


Mohammed Salim (born 5 June 1957) is an Indian politician, belonging to the Communist Party of India (Marxist). He was inducted in the politburo of C.P.I.(M.) in the 21st party congress organised at Vishakhapatnam in 2015. He is a member of the 16th Lok Sabha, representing Raiganj constituency.[2] Earlier, he was a member of the 14th Lok Sabha, representing the Calcutta North East constituency of West Bengal. After delimitation, in the 2009 Lok Sabha election Salim contested the new Calcutta North constituency, and lost to Sudip Bandyopadhyay of the Trinamool Congress.