Yogi Adityanath

Positions Held

Ministry Tenure
21st Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh 19 March 2017
Member of the India Parliament for Gorakhpur 1998 – 21 September 2017

Personal Details

Date Of Birth 5 June 1972 (age 46)
Place Panchur, Uttar Pradesh, India(now in Uttarakhand, India)
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Academics B.Sc. (Mathematics)


Yogi Adityanath (born Ajay Mohan Bisht on 5 June 1972) is an Indian monk and Hindu nationalist politician who is the current Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, in office since 19 March 2017. He was appointed as the Chief Minister on 26 March 2017 after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the 2017 State Assembly elections, in which he was a prominent campaigner. He has been the Member of Parliament from the Gorakhpur constituency, Uttar Pradesh for five consecutive terms since 1998. In 2008, his convoy was attacked en route to Azamgarh for an anti-terrorism rally. The attack left one person dead and at least six persons injured. Adityanath is also the Mahant or head priest of the Gorakhnath Math, a Hindu temple in Gorakhpur, a position he has held since the death of his spiritual "father", Mahant Avaidyanath, in September 2014. He is also the founder of the Hindu Yuva Vahini, a youth organization that has been involved in communal violence.[13][14] He has an image as a right-wing populist Hindutva firebrand.